Tissue regeneration

The research group Tissue regeneration has extensive experience in the isolation and two- and three-dimensional cultivation of human primary cell cultures obtained from different tissues:

  • Bone and cartilage cell cultures isolated from femoral heads or hyaline articular cartilage
  • Fibroblast cell cultures isolated from skin samples
  • Monocytes and macrophages isolated from buffy coats or whole blood.                              

In addition to in vitro biocompatibility studies of biomaterials and implant materials (e.g. tricalcium phosphate, collagen, tantalum, titanium) with the various cell types (bone cells, cartilage cells, fibroblasts), experimental animal analyses are also carried out in collaboration with the working group Experimental biomechanics. In order to record the oxygen supply of cells in 3D structures and the metabolic activity, established static and dynamic in vitro cell culture systems with microsensor technology (oxygen and pH value) exist. It is also possible to cultivate two- and three-dimensional cell cultures under specific oxygen conditions (e.g. 5 % ambient oxygen) in order to achieve physiologically approximated experimental conditions.

An important research focus is the possibility of biophysical stimulation of bone and cartilage cells to promote regeneration of specific tissues. In this context, various test systems have been developed to stimulate cell cultures electrically (directly vs. capacitively coupled electric fields) or mechanically (e.g. via micro-movements).

The working group uses hydrostatic high pressure technology (HHD) to devitalize bone, cartilage and fascia for use as tissue replacement material. Beside the extensive characterization of devitalization efficiency, studies on revitalization and cell differentiation as well as on the immunological potential of the treated tissues are carried out.

Furthermore, the biological response to abrasion particles (metallic particles, bone cement particles, polyethylene particles, ceramic particles) and corrosion products is investigated. In this context, extensive knowledge exists on the characterization of bone remodeling processes and the release of inflammation mediators in the corresponding cell cultures. In addition to single cell experiments, the biological response is also investigated in direct and indirect co-cultures.

Project funding

Staff

  • Doris Hansmann, MTA
  • Lena-Christin Ingwersen, M.Sc.
  • Dr. rer. nat. Annett Klinder
  • Franziska Sahm, M.Sc.
  • Janine Waletzko-Hellwig, M.Sc.
  • Vivica Freiin Grote, M.Sc.
  • Marie-Luise Sellin, M. Sc.
  • Henrike Löffler, M.Sc.
  • Students

AG Geweberegeneration

Die Arbeitsgruppe Geweberegeneration hat umfangreiche Erfahrungen in der Isolation und der zwei- bzw. dreidimensionalen Kultivierung von humanen Primärzellkulturen, welche aus unterschiedlichen Geweben gewonnen werden: 

  • Knochen- und Knorpelzellkulturen, isoliert aus Hüftköpfen bzw. hyalinem Gelenkknorpel
  • Fibroblastenzellkulturen, isoliert aus Hautproben
  • Monozyten und Makrophagen, isoliert aus Buffy Coats oder Vollblut                                

Neben in vitro Biokompatibilitätsuntersuchungen von Biomaterialien und Implantatwerkstoffen (z.B. Tricalciumphosphat, Kollagen, Tantal, Titan) mit den verschiedenen Zelltypen (Knochenzellen, Knorpelzellen, Fibroblasten) erfolgen in Zusammenarbeit mit der AG Experimentelle Biomechanik auch tierexperimentelle Analysen. Um die Versorgung von Zellen in 3D Strukturen mit Sauerstoff und die metabolische Aktivität zu erfassen, bestehen etablierte statische und dynamische in vitro Zellkultursysteme mit Mikrosensortechnik (Sauerstoff und pH-Wert). Es gibt weiterhin die Möglichkeit, die zwei- und dreidimensionalen Zellkulturen unter spezifischen Sauerstoffbedingungen (z.B. 5 % Umgebungssauerstoff) zu kultivieren, um physiologisch angenäherte Versuchsbedingungen zu ermöglichen.

Ein wichtiger Forschungsschwerpunkt ist die Möglichkeit der biophysikalischen Stimulation von Knochen- und Knorpelzellen, um die Regeneration der spezifischen Gewebe zu fördern. In diesem Zusammenhang wurden verschiedene Testsysteme entwickelt, um Zellkulturen elektrisch (direkt vs. kapazitiv eingekoppelte elektrische Felder) oder mechanisch (z.B. über Mikrobewegungen) zu stimulieren.

Darüber hinaus wird in der Arbeitsgruppe die hydrostatische Hochdruck-Technologie (HHD) genutzt, um Knochen, Knorpel und Faszien zu devitalisieren, um diese als Gewebeersatzmaterial zu verwenden. Neben der umfangreichen Charakterisierung der Devitalisierungseffizienz erfolgen Untersuchungen zur Revitalisierung und Zelldifferenzierung sowie zum immunologischen Potential der behandelten Gewebe.

Weiterhin untersucht die AG Geweberegeneration die biologische Antwort auf Abriebpartikel (metallische Partikel, Knochenzementpartikel, Polyethylen-Partikel, Keramikpartikel) und auf Korrosionsprodukte. In diesem Zusammenhang bestehen umfangreiche Kenntnisse zur Charakterisierung von Knochenumbauprozessen und Freisetzung von Entzündungsmediatoren in den entsprechenden Zellkulturen. Neben Einzelzellversuchen wird die biologische Antwort auch in direkten und indirekten Ko-Kulturen untersucht.

Projektträger

Mitarbeitende

  • Doris Hansmann, MTA
  • Dr. rer. nat. Annett Klinder
  • Simone Krüger, M.Sc.
  • Franziska Prehn, M.Sc.
  • Franziska Sahm, M.Sc.
  • Janine Waletzko, M.Sc.
  • Studierende